Review & Swatches: NARS Velvet Lip Glide

Review & Swatches: NARS Velvet Lip Glide

I have a teaser post for you today, featuring the new NARS Velvet Lip Glide – these will only launch in SG around October, so this is a really early sneak peak.  I have the chance to play and swatch the colours in this collection and also share with you my thoughts on how they perform.

Before we go on, here is the collection story:

This season, NARS takes lips to a whole new level with the new Velvet Lip Glide. The new lip color strikes the perfect balance between softness and strength, coverage and comfort in a full range of colors. Laced with NARS’ Oil Infusion Complex, this hybrid lip color combines the fluidity and effortlessness of a gloss with the coverage and comfort of a lipstick. Oil Infusion Complex allows for a smooth-glide effect, instantly delivering saturated color with sensorial comfort. The new doe foot applicator offers a plush application delivering effortlessly nourished lips and intense color. Named after the iconic venues and new attitude that emerged from the sexual revolution of the ‘70s, Velvet Lip Glide shade names capture the freedom of personal power and play.

001009

Swatches on my hand: 

001010

001011

and swatches on my lips: 

My top picks?

Unlaced – this is the sexist pale lipstick that doesn’t look like death.. it is like a chic mannequin skin colour on me

Bound – that rosy blush nude shade never gets old

No 54 – this is a sexy red, love!

Deviant – deeper red, very flattering

001001

My thoughts on these:

I have to say that this is a very interesting formula – at first swatch, I thought they were just pigmented lip gloss.  I didn’t get the ‘velvet’ at all in this formula… and I thought ‘why don’t they make the lip covers from the summer collection permanent because those felt more liquidy less slippery’.. until I really had a chance to explore them and also to apply on my lips.  It takes a while for the velvet lip glide to set on your lips.. and they set into this soft velvety finish – which you can see, the transition from the glossy look in the lip swatches into the velvety in the overall face shots.  They all feel quite comfortable, and they apply very very smoothly.  I won’t compare these nor put them in the same category as the endless supply of liquid lipsticks saturating the lipstick market at the moment.  They might be a tad similar to the Giorgio Armani maestro lip colours.  The pale neutral shades are beautiful in this formula, and the bolder shades are really chic and don’t slip and slide all over the place.

In terms of lasting power, I have to say they don’t last that long – not that they are really marketed as bulge proof or long lasting –  and touching up and reapplication is necessary.  But they are easy to wipe off, and easy to re apply.  If you are prone to dry lips, and you want to try out something easy to wear.. you have to try these out.

Everything else on the face is also NARS.. but I forgot what I wore.. it has been weeks since the pictures were taken and processed.

Most likely the NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint, Dual Intensity Eyeshadow in Pool Shark, Brow Gel (which I will review in another entry), and Gilda (or Lovejoy?) blush… and Laguna bronzer Hot sands highlighter. Lashes – Huda Beauty Lashes in -1 Gisele.

 

Notice how in these full face shots, the lip colors have set to a more of a almost soft matte finish, very very nice!!

001002

001003

001005

001006

001007

001008

 

I hope my review has been helpful and thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: NARS Velvet Lip Glide

  1. All the colors look gorgeous on you ! I feel like the pigmentation is perfect on these. I will definitely get one. Great post x

    themisslubna.com

Leave a Reply

