“Fitness” & Lifestyle Update [Sept 2016]

“Fitness” & Lifestyle Update [Sept 2016]

Hi hi!!

This entry, as you can tell from the title, is going to be a rambly, possibly pointless update.  A couple of years back, I wrote about my weightloss journey (I started back in Dec 2013, spent the whole of 2014 losing almost 20kg, maintaining it in 2015, and now here we are in September 2016).  Over 2 years on, how am I doing?   What long term changes have I noticed in myself?

Not quite sure how to organise this entry yet, I am just typing whatever comes to my mind.

I can share with you the most obvious benefits I have noticed about myself:

Eating ‘Healthy’ & Juicing – I am guilty of something.  Compared to 2014 and 2015, I haven’t been eating quite as clean this year.  But I am not going crazy eating anything I crave either.  I am still holding off the carbs 80% of the time, and I try to avoid fatty food.  I am not doing so good when it comes to sugary stuff (which is really bad I know) but my bad  funky logic is, having a sweet tea/coffee is better than having a whole plate of fried rice that most people eat as a meal everyday?  I try to do a juice cleanse every 1-2 months, a 3 day programme at one time.  This year I have juice cleansed for 3 or 4 times – I find that this is  good detox, not so much as a weight loss, I do lose 2-3 kg each round, but I do it more to reduce bloating and really just to clear my system.

Staying fit and growing stronger – One of the benefits which I think will stay with me for life, is making fitness a way of my life.  And among my close friends, we all do something physical regularly on our own.  We can yak non-stop about our workout sessions, we work out together and also perfectly fine on our own.  I used to only go on my solitary runs, but in the past year, I have grown to love practising yoga.  I have to thank the great yoga teachers along the way, starting with MABEL (@mabesyoga) who started us off the right way – to me the right way is to ease into it, learn the proper techniques and form.  She got my friends and I into yoga, and even though our sessions together have taken a  hiatus, we continue to practise on our own at various places – I usually stick to the same few studios only.  I may not be the most yoga-ry person – no contortions and inversions for me, but I think yoga is something that I can see myself doing for many many years to come.  I have experienceed greater strength and flexibility in my body, more toned limbs – my weight didn’t go down but I think I am more toned.

Because my body is stronger and I am going to different places to practise yoga, I am now more open to trying new forms of working out.  I tried out Pilates, I tried out a barre class, etc I don’t think I would have dare to try a couple of years ago.  And that confidence to try out a class is priceless.  

I still go for my runs, but the frequency has gone down from 4-5 times to 1-2 a week, usually weekend mornings.  I try to do yoga at least 4 times a week.  I have since switched from Kfit to Guava – read about my Kfit experience/ fitness update back in Feb 2016 here.

Guava is more expensive – I signed for a 6mth contract at SG139 a mth, but I need the unlimited classes factor.  The ten sessions per monthly cycle with Kfit wasn’t giving me enough sessions. I do enjoy the variety of places which I practise at, which is why I did not commit to a membership at one particular studio.  Besides, on Guava, I get to try out barre classes and pilates as well. If I had only sign on as a member at one studio, then I won’t explore other options or discover other great yoga classes.

Also, I think there is a difference between learning and practising yoga.  Some places (usually the big crowded classes) you only get to practise, but you won’t get to LEARN the poses as compared to a smaller more intimate setting – where the teacher is able to go around and help you. I am not saying that teachers in huge classes/ studios ‘dun teach’ but you just to be aware, the style and feel is different when you are in these huge classes of over 30 students.  So you might want to have a session a week where you LEARN, and 2-3 other sessions where you practise what you have learned.  There is no point in doing something if your form is wonky, you might hurt yourself, and you might be left wondering what the heck just happened after a class, and also you don’t end up working out the correct muscle groups.. or you end up thinking ‘oh yoga is just to stretch only right’… because believe me, a good yoga session (whether hatha or vinyasa) is all sweat and work, super enjoyable, you don’t have to be all panting and puffing, but your body feels great afterwards.  I hope this point about learning vs practising and small vs big classes isn’t too controversial… but it’s just my own thoughts.

Lastly, the weight – I have put back on 3-4 kg over 2015 to right now.  But I am not so worried about the extra kilos…I still fit the same size clothes, but I think whatever I am doing now is more sustainable (I need to improve on my eating).  And if I need to cut back, I know what to do (eat cleaner works the best for me).  I still go for my accu once a week, and I don’t think I will stop that yet.

Other benefits?  Exercising is the best form of anti-aging self care!  Eat well, sleep well, workout regularly. FYI, ONCE A WEEK IS NOT ENOUGH – you got to keep at it at least 3 times a week, commitment and dedication is important.  Work is never-ending, that dinner date or event which I am invited to can wait or skip… I would rather turn up on the mat for my yoga then attend a beauty event these days.  I am already 37, and I know it is shameless to say, everyone who asks how old I am, or wonder to themselves how old I am, they always guess at least 10 years younger.  Then they ask, what do I do?  How?   And this is how – skincare, bodycare (not just slapping anti-cellulite creams mind you), eating well… it is all the whole package.  I don’t think I intentionally try to look younger… but everything I do regularly in my lifestyle helped.

I hope this sharing is helpful, and thank you for reading.  Leave your questions, comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

