Get Ready with Me: The MUFE #readytomouthoff challenge

Get Ready with Me: The MUFE #readytomouthoff challenge

001001

Hi hi!

so sometime back, when the MUFE team asked if I am interested in doing a makeup challenge, I found myself quite game for it – and it took me almost 2 weeks to get down to doing something.

I certainly didn’t expect a whole kit filled with the gear – tools and products which I can use to create a bold lip look.  I am guessing others who are doing the challenge might get other sort of challenge, for example, a cut crease eyelook, etc. I guess doing a bold lip isn’t too stressful for me, right?

The kit is impressively packed – and certainly helped create the sense of a ‘challenge’ – but the purpose of this entry isn’t really about the kit… but rather, WHAT I did with the products given to me.

We have a couple of their Artist Rouge Lipsticks (a creamy white, and a creamy deep berry shade), fix mist, concealer, lip pencils, glitter pigments… so with all that in mind, I started some casual mental brainstorming, of what I can do with the products.  I know I probably won’t be able to do those really cool graphic artistic lip looks that I have seen those makeup artists do… but I will try to move out of my comfort zone, and use some of the products in different ways to create something unexpected.  Besides, if my lip look is too ‘out there’, what am I going to do with the rest of my face?

I believe the #gopromakeupchallenge is a campaign which they are currently running (can check out their social media channels) so if you are keen to take part in your own way, you certainly should!  – The MUFE SINGAPORE FACEBOOK page is linked here. 

 

001003

I did two looks:

One – a rather futuristic glittery grey liplook over a white base.  To be honest, the white lipstick was quite tricky to work out.  It applied rather unevenly and streaky no matter how I tried to blend and build up the colour. So I decided to use the metallic grey pigment and applied it over the white base instead.  I left the middle of my lips quite bare, to create that silvery grey white gradient effect.  Then I pat on some of the silver glitter bits in the centre of my lips.

I kept the rest of the face quite simple and clean so that it’s not competing with the liplook.  I think this is not that outlandish, but it is certainly not the most flattering shade on me (or anyone for that matter) – it seemed to drain my face of colour – which is why I piled on the warm shades in terms of my face colour.

001004

001005

 

I decided to make use of the other lipstick included in the kit.

A deep wine berry shade, I decided to smudge it out at the edges, to make it look like I am just ‘drank some blood’ or like my lips are ‘bleeding’ – because the rest of the face is quite clean, I find that this look is definitely wearable.

001006

001007

So which bold liplook do you prefer?  I have listed everything else used below, in case you are wondering.

All products used: (ALL MUFE unless stated otherwise)

face – Ultra HD Invisible Cover Stick Foundation (shade Y225)

contour/ highlight/ blush – contour with Pro>Bronze Fusion in 10M, bronze & highlight with Pro>Sculpting Duo 02, blush Becca Luminous Blush in Tigerlily

eyeliner – Graphic Liner in Black, outline with white liquid eyeliner from Too Faced Sketch Marker in Pure White

set with IT Cosmetics BYE BYE pores pressed powder

Lips (Look 1 – grey glittery over white base)

line lips with Aqua XL Pencil in M16, fill in with Artist Rouge Creme C600, paint over with Star Lit Powder in 27, and dust the centre with Glitter Powder in 15

Lips (Look 2 – grungy messy berry lips)

smudge the edges and blend out, using Artist Rouge Creme C407

eyes – lightly colour the crease using the contour shade in the Sculpting Kit (shade 2)

 

 

That’s all for now, and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

