GRWM: Clarins The Essential Palette

GRWM: Clarins The Essential Palette

Hi hi, this week, I received a package from the team at Clarins, there was a gift pack and also this eyeshadow palette!  In recent years, Clarins makeup is something that I can only admire and look at from afar from overseas beauty junkies’ social media posts, ever since the brand has pulled out their makeup collection from the SG market.  To be honest, I am really only interested in their base products – they have a good range of foundations, blushes and lip products.  I was told that the Clarins makeup will be making a return to SG early 2017, so I am looking forward to re-trying some of my old faves from them again.  And I hope that they will carry their summer releases!  Think gorgeous bronzers (OG readers will remember my Clarins bronzer that makes its appearance in almost every LOTD I posted on the blog!).

001002

Anyway, back to this Essentials Palette – which is not for sale here, but I am sure you can find it somewhere online if you really want it.  It comes in a cardboard style packaging, a dual ended brush, and ten wearable neutral shades. As you can see from my swatches, I feel that the darker shades fare better in terms of colour payoff, while the lighter shades tend to blend into my own skintone colour.  The ‘matte’ shades actually have a nice subtle pearly sheen to them, while the metallic shades contain some shimmer bits which doesn’t really adhere very well to the overall formula of the eyeshadow.  The overall quality reminds me a bit of the Bobbi Brown eyeshadows – very wearable, but not the most intensely pigmented.

001003

001004

In this look, I tried to go for a more reddish brown soft smokey look – using the shades as indicated in the pictures below.  The eyeshadows feel a tad dry, but I did not have too much issues blending them out.  The shimmery finish of the eyeshadows in the pan did not quite transfer onto the skin when applied. So, if you want something very safe and quite subtle, this palette will deliver… though I am wondering how much this will actually retail, and also, I am wondering if the formula is due to the plant extracts used in the production.

001005

 

And here is the complete look:

001008

001006

001007

All products used:

Face – est.lab Sunshield, added more coverage with Make Up Store Instant Perfection Foundation (refer to my current fave face combinations here!), set with Shu Uemura Lightbulb Loose Powder

Eyes – Clarins The Essential Palette, Tom Ford eye defining liner

Cheeks – no blusher, but I used NARS Hot Sands/ Laguna powder duo

Lips – NARS Rosecliff lipstick (LE)

Brows – ABH Brow Promade Medium Brown

That’s all for this entry, and thanks so much for reading!

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

