GRWM: Chanel SS 2017 Makeup Collection

GRWM: Chanel SS 2017 Makeup Collection

Hi hi!!  Happy new year! First entry in 2017 will be a round up of my top picks from the new Chanel SS 2017 Makeup Collection.  The collection is now available in SG, and prices are as follows:

COCO CODE blush (LE) – SG103

LES 4 OMBRES 278 CODES SUBTILS (LE) – SG90

ROUGE COCO SHINE 128 NOIR MODERNE – SG49

LE VERNIS 546 ROUGE RED – SG39

LE VERNIS 556 BEIGE BEIGE – SG39

The collection is made up of a range of very wearable and classic colours – soft reds, neutral olives and browns, and classic beige and noir red.  The immediate thing which jumped out at me, is of course the Coco Code blush – it contains four quadrants of a pearlised pinky bone shade, satin matte bronze shade, soft matte red shade, and a soft metallic pale gold shade.  I have swatched each quadrant separately, but in my overall look, I just lightly tap each shade (instead of swirling over everything) and applied as a blush.  I then only use the bronzer shade to warm up my complexion, and only the pinky bone shade as a soft cheek highlighter.

Next, there are two quads in this collection, and I picked the one which has the khaki/ olive shade. The quad has decent payoff, but there is some powdery kick off when I swatched and pick up colour.. but the kick off (or should I say fall out) is miminal when I am actually applying the colour to my eyes. I had used the brown shade all over my eyelids, and blending out the edges.  I then used the pinky shimmery shade only on the middle of my lids for a more dimensional ‘spotlight’ pop.  I used the olive shade as an eyeliner, mainly on the lower eyelids and also on the outer corners of my upper lash line.  The only shade I didn’t use is the pale gold shade – though I would have probably used it on the inner corner of my eyelids.  A nice pretty quad, but nothing too striking if you already own many of Chanel’s khaki-olive eyeshadows.

The two nail polishes are gorgeous – Beige Beige is a peachy warm nude, and the formula is totally non streaky, and applies so smoothly.  It is a cream finish shade, and I applied two thin coats for a smooth even finish.  Love this shade. Rouge Red is a classic warm red.  It has a ‘soft’ look to it – very opaque with two thin coats, but it is not that kind of intense warm red like coromandel.. if you own too many red nail colours like I do, I hope you know what I mean! 🙂

Lastly, I have a rouge coco shine – Noir Moderne – which is a deep berry shade.  Some Rouge Coco Shine can be pretty intense for a coco shine, but this one is quite sheer, and it is like a MLBB berry shade.  I love this, and I miss how balmy and hydrating the Coco Shines are.  Wore this out for NYE, and I was happily reapplying it without having to use a mirror.  It is that effortless and awesome.

I know these are my top picks.. but if you have to shortlist these pieces further, I would definitely say the Coco Code blush, the lippie, and the Beige Beige nailpolish are must haves!

Here are some product close ups: 

001002

001003

001004

001005

I know I didn’t swatch and take pictures of the nailpolish here, but if you follow me on Instagram, I will pop them on there when I wear the colours again!

001006

001007

001008

Swatches: 

001010

001012

After Swatching!!  

I know some people are like, how to touch and use this beautifully embossing?  I used my fingers to swipe across each quadrant, but realistically you would use a brush, and everything was restored back to ‘normal’ after I have used my brush to pick up the product.  Of course the lettering would wear off when you use this often enough, which is still okay, I have way more intricately embossed Chanel powders which I really can’t bear to use too much of!  This is still quite ‘use-able’.  Hehe.  Besides, it has decent colour payoff, and if you don’t end up using it (and just keeping it as a collectible) that would be such a pity.

001013

001014

Close up pictures

001015

Overall Look

001016

001017

001018

All products used:

Chanel Les Beiges liquid foundation, Nars radiant creamy concealer under my eyes, set with Shu Uemura Lightbulb loose powder

Cheeks – bronzer, blush – Coco Code

Lips – Rouge Coco Shine Noir Moderne

Eyes – Codes Subtils quad, colour placement as described above

 

Hope you find this entry helpful, and thanks for reading!

 

 

2 thoughts on “GRWM: Chanel SS 2017 Makeup Collection

Leave a Reply

